Life as an Encore

IMG_1578

My husband of 34 years and I both retired in July 2012. I am so thankful that we were able to retire together. It happened relatively fast after we visited a financial planner in November of 2011. I had to switch my retirement savings from the company plan to a new company plan. We shared our budget and plans and she reviewed and crunched numbers and retirement could be a reality, not a distance future. Our plan was first for Steve at the end of the school year and me the following March. The factors determining the March date changed for me in the spring of 2012 so I was able to join my husband in retirement.

We planned to celebrate Steve’s retirement with a trip to Italy in September but moved to October. I am use to planning my vacation a year out because of work policy and business planning. We left for Italy on October 2nd and returned on October 18th. We started in Rome and ended in Venice. We had a great time enjoying the history, country, and culture. Only regret was that we weren’t able to spend more time in Venice because we couldn’t rebook our return flight for a reasonable cost.

 

La Dolce Vita means “The Sweet Life” in Italian.   Come celebrate the Sweet Life with Me!

About Sherri Robinson

Enjoying time with my wonderful husband after my two amazing daughters have left on adventures in New York and Seattle, avid reader, exploring the world, sharing time with friends near and far, living my Christian faith.
This entry was posted in Early Retirement Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

