The Challenges of Being a Foodie

Why is it that for a family trying to watch their weight, all your photos are eating?” my mom, Leona Robinson

IMG_1632

Wonderful desserts in a Tuscan Steak House, Florence. The Steak was good wonderful, I skipped dessert this night, as did most of the group.

My mom has a good point.  Traveling through Italy in October, I ate either Tiramisu or Gelato almost every day.   Once I had Gelato for lunch!  I did walk 10 miles a day though and did lots and lots of steps. RESULT: I came home the same weight.

We enjoy the quality of food, not the quantity.   Most restaurants in Eastern Washington serve portions like we have to go home and work at the farm hauling water and hay for the stock.   I will try and cut my portions in half and ask for a to go container when I can and bring food home.  I may not eat it later, but I didn’t eat twice my daily calories in one meal.  I hope to use the same discipline this Wednesday when I go out to dinner during Spokane’s  Food Week, first time for our town.   Click on the photo below.

churchills

.

 

About Sherri Robinson

Enjoying time with my wonderful husband after my two amazing daughters have left on adventures in New York and Seattle, avid reader, exploring the world, sharing time with friends near and far, living my Christian faith.
This entry was posted in Early Retirement Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Challenges of Being a Foodie

  1. Mom says:

    Thanks for the lovely quote. You stated that the servings are too large – hence Senior Menue!
    Mom

Leave a Reply

