Live as if you were to die tomorrow. Learn as if you were to live forever.” ― Mahatma Gandhi

“Carpe diem.”   (Odes: I.11)” Horace, The Odes of Horace  (Seize the day!)

Two men died of heart attacks yesterday. One was an actor 6 years younger than Steve and I, another a high school classmate.    I have reached the age where the phrase by Gandhi has hit home.

I don’t have the excuse of work and a young family demanding my time anymore. I can choose to spend the hours and days of my life in ways that I find meaningful, to reconnect with life long friends and developing new rich friendships.  I also have come to realize that in some relationships,  one has to be the one to start the contact and spend the energy.   I have a dear friend that I’ve known for decades.  During a visit to her home, and she was a very gracious hostesses, we went to dinner with her parents.   They remarked that I was her only friend that they knew from the time we became friends.  Over almost 4 decades she has never initiated any contact, none, since she moved across the country. Most friendships, without some effort drift like discarded bottles on the ocean, sinking or landing of distant shores, forgotten by the sender.

I am a moray eel of friendships. Moray eels clamp on and don’t let go. I realize that I am the exception and truly cherish the four friendships I’ve enjoyed over 40 years that we still email, send cards by snail mail, visit, and rarely in this age of instant communication, talk by phone.

So if you are someone that  I haven’t received an email or talked on the phone, you may see my phone number on your caller id.  Reach out and email or call me back and celebrate living by seizing the day!moray_eel_img_2426

About Sherri Robinson

Enjoying time with my wonderful husband after my two amazing daughters have left on adventures in New York and Seattle, avid reader, exploring the world, sharing time with friends near and far, living my Christian faith.
This entry was posted in Early Retirement Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

