Two Words to Describe 2013 – Exploration and Practice

Better Mary Kay and Sherri on Run

Before I bought my new helmet and jacket and pants.

January 2013 I started skiing again. I went to Silver Mountain and 49 Degrees North. First time in my life that I got Season Pass. I bought new skis, a helmet, jacket and pants. The entire outfit should last my ski career. I hope my friend, Mary Kay, can join me this season. Although 2013 – 14 may not be the best ski season. Thankfully I decided even skiing every Friday in January, a pass still isn’t cost effective for my commitment to the hill and doesn’t allow me to try other places. I have made great progress and I think practicing yoga made my legs stronger.

Steve and I did begin the practice of yoga twice a week.  As the year ends, we are constantly going to class three times a week with a goal of four times.  We also add in some aerobic activity.   Last year at this time, I could barely get through 5 downward dogs, now I can go the entire class without having to rest in child’s pose.

I have continued taking piano lessons and practicing.  Being able to read musics and play longer pieces brings me joy.   I now set the metronome when no one is home– and practice my key scales.   My teacher said that since I know my  keys, I can start writing songs that I know the melody in the coming months.

Steve and I explored the San Juan Islands and Boston this year.  Next year we hope to see the jungles of Costa Rica by zip line and raft.

P6470600

Zip lining in canopy of Costa Rica- Monteverde. Zip lines were 1/2 to 1 mile long.

As Life Magazine’s motto said,  “ (I plan) ..To see things thousands of miles away, things hidden behind walls and within rooms, things dangerous to come to . . . to see and be amazed. ”

About Sherri Robinson

Enjoying time with my wonderful husband after my two amazing daughters have left on adventures in New York and Seattle, avid reader, exploring the world, sharing time with friends near and far, living my Christian faith.
This entry was posted in Early Retirement Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

