“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”

Zip line in Costa Rica

Zip line in Costa Rica

I am glad we made it now when we could still travel and carry backpacks for 18 days, zip line, horseback ride, hike, and kayak.

I will miss improving speaking Spanish because we went off the beaten path. Costa Rica has official and unofficial taxis. We took an official one from the airport. I talked to the security woman and asked where they were. She got the man in charge. He was outside. He took us to the official one. Official have seat belts and licenses.
In Puerto Viejo, which is like Barbados, a surfer town with Afro Caribbean residents that came to help finish the railroad in the 80’s, there are no official taxis. Steve and I had the staff call us a cab at the animal rescue agency. The Dutch volunteer explained that we would have to get out at the bridge and walk 100 meters then he would pick us up. It was okay, she used him all the time. The driver explained in Spanish that the police wait at the entrance of the park. The taxi goes by empty. If he has passengers coming back, he gets fined. He would wait ahead for us. I will miss Puerto Viejo because no tour buses, big hotels, friendly dogs that go with anyone, anywhere; and the black sand beaches with locals fishing with a special lure.

Hiking in Manzillo State Park, near Puerto Viejo Costa Rica

I will miss not having to drive for almost a month and walking everywhere or taking a cab. Cabs in the city were very reasonable. I will miss not spending time watching TV. The only TV we watched was the second to last night in San Jose. It was a national soccer match in a pub with fans from both teams. Our guide’s aunt kicked out the ball. After the game, people honked horns, waved flags for their team in the pouring rain- Wild!

I will miss hearing the birds and monkeys at first light which is 6 AM. Costa Rica has a saying, “Costa Rica siempre es” which mean always is because it has a wet and dry season but same temperature and night and day is always 12 hours because of being close to the equator.

I will miss looking 10 years younger because everything plumps out with the humidity

I will not miss: having to put toilet paper in a basket next to the toilet. Costa Rica is a new country and still needs to build the infra structure. Every place has septic tanks. Chain hotels must have multiple septic tanks so tourists can flush but we stayed in locally owned hotels and went to local restaurants with the basket. Not a big deal unless you get traveler’s diarrhea like Steve one day. He ended up dragging himself to the reception bathroom so he could leave the smelly paper outside of our room. I will not miss having more light. Costa Rica number one industry is Eco Tourism so they are energy conscious. All hotel rooms are dark. They haven’t incorporated LCD bright bulbs yet. At times I had to read in bed with my headlamp I brought for night hikes. I will not miss having my swim suit take 3 days to dry because of the humidity. I had to have it laundered because it started to mildew. I will will not miss being able to dry my hair so I could have a change of hair style instead of air dried, curly, wild

Horseback riding in Monteverde, Costa Rica

Horseback riding in Monteverde, Costa Rica


Kayaking Lake Arenal2

Kayaking on Lake Arenal


Sailing off Manuel Antonio State Park

About Sherri Robinson

Enjoying time with my wonderful husband after my two amazing daughters have left on adventures in New York and Seattle, avid reader, exploring the world, sharing time with friends near and far, living my Christian faith.
This entry was posted in Early Retirement Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

