Riding the Waves

IMG_2802I learned to body surf very young growing up  Southern California.   I would swim out with a very tall father or cousins and dive under the approaching waves.   Sometimes you would rise up and float over in position to ride the next break into the shore.  Other times caught in the surf, tumbling end over end , doing a face plant in the sand.   I recently did a face plant on the beach with my mother’s death.   I have started out again, diving under the waves to catch one to ride back in.  While I am going out to sea,  other friends are being battering by the surf.   I think that is why we relish the times we all can ride the wave to shore because we know the next wipe out is coming.   Life still is better experienced in the unpredictability of the sea than the safety of the sand.

About Sherri Robinson

Enjoying time with my wonderful husband after my two amazing daughters have left on adventures in New York and Seattle, avid reader, exploring the world, sharing time with friends near and far, living my Christian faith.
This entry was posted in Early Retirement Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

