“Anyone who stops learning is old, whether at twenty or eighty. Anyone who keeps learning, stays young.” ― Henry Ford

    OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

    My daughter enjoying playing Christmas music at the piano.

    I have resumed my piano lessons.  My eldest daughter shared at my mother’s funeral, that the reason she can play for enjoyment today is “Grandma made me practice day after day, year after year and didn’t mind listening to me practicing.”

    I don’t know if she came to the realization that listening to someone practice like her mother, slowly, section about section, wrong note by wrong note, legato and then staccato, accidental sharps and flats,  isn’t enjoyable as a mastered piece.

    Practicing yoga and practicing the piano as an adult are very Zen like.  I have to go slow to go fast.   Breaking the practice of each into small steps helps.  In yoga, I may just work on breathing through my nose the entire class because when exercise because more challenging,  everyone takes in more air through the mouth.

    With piano, my note reading is very strong.  I listened to my daughter’s teacher, Joyce, when she said that she wanted the girls to see a note and think, “That’s a C and be able to play it without going through the entire scale.”  I see the note on the keyboard.  My mom said that piano is so much harder than typing because fingers hit different notes in pieces and you only hit one key on the keyboard at a time.    I would add that you don’t have to master crazy rhythms either where it is hands together, left, right, together like in the piece, Largo and the Can Can but once you get that down, gorgeous music awaits.   The book, Outliers,is helpful because I need to know that if I want to be successful I have to put in hour after hour. So time to practice and practice and practice…

About Sherri Robinson

Enjoying time with my wonderful husband after my two amazing daughters have left on adventures in New York and Seattle, avid reader, exploring the world, sharing time with friends near and far, living my Christian faith.
This entry was posted in Early Retirement Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

