No Quiet Life of Desperation but one of Dangerous and Noble Things

“I want to think again of dangerous and noble things.
I want to be light and frolicsome.
I want to be improbable beautiful and afraid of nothing,
as though I had wings.”
Mary Oliver, Owls and Other Fantasies: Poems and Essays

I discovered the poet Mary Oliver reading the newest autobiography by Diana Nyad.  She overcame  horrific childhood abuses by proving that she was strong and special as a young woman –to realize with age that she didn’t have to be a special person but live a life that was special.   At the age of 60, she decided to swim to Cuba, a life long dream–after not swimming for  30 years as a long distance swimmer.

At the age of 10, she felt life was racing past her.  At 60 she knows life is zooming by.  She tries to be in the moment, not dwelling in the past or gazing toward the future.  So I ask myself, “What will I do with the possible  last 20 good years ?” as Mary Oliver asks in the quote in Diana’s book, 

Tell me, what is it you plan to do with your one wild and precious life?’ ‘ 

 

About Sherri Robinson

Enjoying time with my wonderful husband after my two amazing daughters have left on adventures in New York and Seattle, avid reader, exploring the world, sharing time with friends near and far, living my Christian faith.
This entry was posted in Early Retirement Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

